Destinys Child

Destiny’s Child is an American R&B girl group. It was created as Girl’s Tyme in 1990 in Houston, Texas, and initially consisted of 6 girls: Beyonce Knowles, LaTavia Roberson, Kelly Rowland, Tamar Davis and sisters Nikki and Nina Taylor. The group took part in Star Search competition, but failed. After that, Knowles’s father decided to manage it and changed the group composition by excluding Davis and the Taylor sisters and offering LeToya Luckett tojoin the group. In 1996, the girls’ band changed its name to Destiny’s Child and signed a contract with Columbia Records.

Their first song “Killing Time” became a soundtrack to 1997 “Men in Black”. In 1998, they released their debut album “Destiny’s Child”. Over one million copies were sold in the United States and the album was certified platinum by RIAA. Their 1999 album “The Writing’s on the Wall” became the breakthrough one. It got eight-time platinum certification and became one of the top-selling albums of 2000.

In 2000, Roberson and Luckett left the group and were replaced by Michelle Williams and Farrah Franklin. However, soon, Franklin also left and Destiny’s Child became trio. The same year, they won Soul Train’s Sammy Davis Jr. Entertainer of the Year award. In 2002, its members started their solo careers. Knowles was considered the most successful solo singer of three girls. Her debut album earned five Grammy awards. In 2004, after a three years hiatus, the girls released their fifth album “Destiny Fulfilled”, which became their final one. In 2006, Destiny’s Child was disbanded, but all its members continue their solo careers. The same year, the group received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.