American Society of Cinematographers Gives Top Award to Roger Deakins, Again

1917” cinematographer Roger Deakins has won the award for the best feature-film cinematography of 2019 at the American Society of Cinematographers Awards, which were handed out on Saturday night in Los Angeles.The win was Deakins’ fifth from the Asc, tying him with Emmanuel Lubezki for the most ever.

It was also his third win in the past decade, after “Skyfall” in 2013 and “Blade Runner 2049” in 2018.Deakins is favored to win his second Oscar for his work on a film that was designed to look like one long, continuous shot.

It came about half an hour after Sam Mendes won the Directors Guild Award for that film.The Spotlight Award, which goes to a film that has not received wide theatrical distribution, went to Oscar nominee Jarin Blaschke for “The Lighthouse,” while the Asc’s first documentary award went to “Honeyland.”Also Read: Directors Guild Awards 2020: Sam Mendes Wins

Read full article